HealthCare Resources Blog


Malecon Metamorphosis

Posted in Personal,Reflections by Pam on May 18, 2011

One day it was there – the next day it was being taken apart. The “Jungle Drums” are beating wildly about the Malecon. Rumors, chismes, scuttlebutt and opinions galore are the talk of the town.

I personally find, one of the best articles (in English) that has been written can be seen here: http://www.banderasnews.com/1105/nb-malecon16.htm Valid points and thoughts to ponder. It is now a wait and see situation – and if in fact, the end results are like the projected drawings, hurray! And Bravo Sylvie!

Is it going to be an eyesore, an inconvenience over the next few months? You bet! We will have to find other places to take our runs, our strolls, our sunset watching in the meantime.

No, I am not a business owner on the Malecon. I feel for them at this time, especially as we move in to the low season.

A large part of this falls under the heading of  “politics”. I am a gringa. I do not enter, I do not comment, I do not participate in politics here. I don’t want to and as well, I shouldn’t!

I am a gringa and I love Puerto Vallarta! This is my home. Until I pass from this paradise to heaven (I hope!) I will live here and watch my “half-Mexican” grandkids grow up and prosper here, in the country of their birth.

Who are we, as non-Mexicans, to try and tell our Mexican friends, neighbors and families how to do things? I say, support them, in any way that we can, whether they are “yea” or “nay” for the new Malecon.

Why don’t we, the non-Mexicans who are here (and we are many!), come up with some creative ways to assist economically, even in very small ways.  If that means trudging through some construction to get to a business affected by the changes going on, then let’s trudge! My thoughts had been running in this direction BEFORE the Malecon changes – how can we give some of our business to those affected by the low season? In any part of the city? I have a few ideas – how about you?

17 Responses to 'Malecon Metamorphosis'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Malecon Metamorphosis'.

  1. Andrea Scott said,

    I agree. Let us make this positive. The Malecon is going to be spectacular when it is completed. Change is good. In the meantime we need to support those business affected by the disruption. Just some thoughts.

    • Pamela said,

      Thank you Andrea! Agree!

  2. Mary Ann Wood said,

    I guess we can just be glad that they didn’t decide to do this during the busy season – now THAT would have been a real disaster. Let’s just hope that since the company doing it is the same one that did the bridge repair, they will get it done in record time ! I do feel really really sorry that those visiting PV, especially those for the first time, since a walk on the malecon is always a highlight !

    • Kathy said,

      I’m disappointed that they started before restaurant week was over. I think there will be alot of tourists in town for this event. I was bragging to my friends (who will be there for the first time) how wonderful the malecon was for walking and people watching. I wish they could have done it a little later into the year and also a section at a time, but also realize that the rainy season could be playing a part of it. The new plan looks awesome and I’m sure future visitors will enjoy it. I hope the local businesses along there won’t suffer too much. Thanks for giving us the latest report.

  3. Tricia Syz said,

    I very much appreciate your positive approach to changes there, and your wish for a pro-active approach to the low season that affects the businesses and workers of Vallarta.

    You asked for ideas to keep the local people working, I have an idea…. it’s a small thing…. but it’s an idea.

    The photographers who make their living while the tourists are there, take a hit as soon as the season goes low. Photographers who work in the hotels tstill often pay rent on space for their business.

    Why not choose that time of year to do your family/friend photos? I know there are lots of photographers in the beautiful Vallarta, but I’d like to suggest the work of a wonderful professional photographer, born and raised in Vallarta named Aldo Tovar. He works largely in weddings, but also with family and groups for other occasions.

    My career was in Graphic Design in Canada, and I can recognize a special, and unique approach to design. Aldo has a knack for letting the individual shine in their photos. As you can see I am impressed to no end with his work. See for yourself: http://www.aldotovarphotographer.com/main.htm

    After all that…. that’s my idea. Get photos taken in low season. Might even get an exceptional rate!

  4. Tricia Syz said,

    I very much appreciate your positive approach to changes there, and your wish for a pro-active approach to the low season that affects the businesses and workers of Vallarta.

    You asked for ideas to keep the local people working, I have an idea…. it’s a small thing…. but it’s an idea.

    The photographers who make their living while the tourists are there, take a hit as soon as the season goes low. Photographers who work in the hotels still often pay rent on space for their business.

    Why not choose that time of year to do your family/friend photos? I know there are lots of photographers in the beautiful Vallarta, but I’d like to suggest the work of a wonderful professional photographer, born and raised in Vallarta named Aldo Tovar. He works largely in weddings, but also with family and groups for other occasions.

    My career was in Graphic Design in Canada, and I can recognize a special, and unique approach to design. Aldo has a knack for letting the individual shine in their photos. As you can see I am impressed to no end with his work. See for yourself: http://www.aldotovarphotographer.com/main.htm

    After all that…. that’s my idea. Get photos taken in low season. Might even get an exceptional rate!


  5. Very Well Put Pam I agree with you. However as a business owner on a street that was cut off when the new malicon was built and skirted around Aquiles Serdan, I feel the frustration.
    I wish there was some way to put up signs diecting people to the various businesses from the point of closure, or in my case from the corner of Aquiles Serdan and the playa. This would really help. I don’t know how to get the government offices to help us by allowing signs to help the businesses who have been cut off. It appears to be against the law. Any Ideas??

    • Pamela said,

      I don’t have a clue who is in charge of giving permits for “signage” – there is a business association for the “Romantic Zone” – are you a member? Perhaps together with them, signs could be made. I know that Cyndi from Archie’s Wok has the same problem where the street is closed in front of their restaurant due to the pier construction.

  6. Joyce Mace said,

    Hi Pamela,
    I have come to Puerto Vallarta every year for 10 years and my husband even longer. My first time was on a cruise ship. I wished even then there had been more of a guidance on local businesses. Maybe some sort of a map could be drawn up for best directions to navigate around certain areas in town. These could be handed out to tourists arriving on ships and posted in local businesses. Maybe some of the local tour guides could suppliment slow season by offering walking tours around town.

    I love Puerto Vallarta and the local people. I hope they do well and I’m sure the finished Malecon will be beautiful.

    • Pamela said,

      You must remember that for the cruise ships, they hold a very tight control of the cruise ship passengers. They do not permit just anyone to hand out maps or sell tours (unless they are pre-booked by the passengers via the internet – completely separate from the tours sold via the cruise lines.) There are some good maps of the area online. Unfortunately the “small guy” can’t get near the cruise ship passengers – – unless the cruisers do homework via the internet prior to their vacation!

      • Joyce Mace said,

        I didn’t know, It has been many years since I first took a cruise to PV. Just trying to think of something to help. I guess it does make sense for the visitors saftey. When I’m there I feel safe and tend to go wherever I want but realize the cruise companys are, and should be, cautious.

        Happy to be a part of your blog. I enjoy all updated news of PV as I can’t get there as often as I would like. You helped me last time I was there find and excellent doctor for Botox.

        Keep blogging,
        Joyce Mace

  7. Alex Duarte said,

    Bravo Pam! l loved your article and agreed with it 100%. l owe you a bracelet!

    Love you.

    Mean it.

    Alex Duarte.

  8. Bob Bruneau said,

    I am taking a wait and see attitude towards the Malecon. I do hope it includes restrooms well done and well staffed! I also hope that they maintain all the new work in the coming years better than they are maintaining the new section of Malecon in front of Vitae restaurant. The sails are filthy, cables rusty, and the beautiful new stainless steel lamps are starting to rust.


  9. Please keep in mind the Pan Am games are happening in Guadalajara this year with at least 3 events slated for PV, Beach Volleyball, the marathon and wind surfing. There will be many visitors and the new Malecon will be showcased providing economic benefit for years to come. No pain no gain!!

    • Pamela said,

      I am well aware of the PanAmerican games – and it’s going to be great for Vallarta and all of Jalisco. I have no doubt that this is one of the biggest reasons for the “sprucing up” – which also included the improvements on Basillo Badillo! I am sure it’ll all be beautiful in the end!

  10. Tom Atkachunas said,

    Great article Pam. Change is sometimes hard to accept as well as the methods needed to create the final result. We live in Vallarta and love it and its people. We depend a lot on the locals to support our little business and we try to support them in return. It is irritating to read that expats and visitors or part time residents always find fault with the lawmakers and city officials and claim they pay taxes and should have a say. Pay taxes LOL, if they want to pay taxes they should stay in the states and go broke doing so.
    Let’s applaud the officials for wanting to make this a beautiful city that residents and visitors do not tire of because it lacks changing beauty and encourages new blood to come to visit and live here.


  11. It is human nature to be afraid of change, but most change is good if directed by the right people. Let’s hope the change in the Malecon will be a positive one.
    I remember years ago after the hurricane when they rebuilt the arches, people did not like the way they looked and complained about that. After they were done they looked great and better than the old ones. Most change is good

    Thanks
    Jeff Musto (the pvkid)
    Puerto Vallarta rentals
    http://www.puerto-vallarta-rentals.com
    Travel & Vacation Insurance
    http://www.puerto-vallarta-rentals.com/travelguard


Leave a Reply

