HealthCare Resources Blog


Being Conscious of Blessings and Giving Thanks

Posted in Reflections by Pam on November 26, 2010
Tags:

Though we live outside of the United States, most of us here still celebrate, in one way or another, Thanksgiving. And, as well, at the end of the day, when we are back in our own homes, have kicked off our shoes and put on some loose fitting pants, it is time for a bit of reflection.

This has been an incredible week for me. The Medical Expo far exceeded any and all expectations that I had. With attendance nearly triple of what was expected and the speakers and exhibitors shining like the stars that they are, the culmination of months of organizing and work paid off, tenfold. The pride that I felt for “my” doctors brought about emotions that I didn’t even know that I had for them.

We then moved on to a gathering of friends at the Hacienda Jalisco, high in the mountains of the Sierra Madres above Puerto Vallarta to celebrate Thanksgiving. The air was crisp, the mariachi’s performed their magic and a feast fit for a king was put out for us, all prepared, even down to the pies, by my son. Where in the world this guy learned how to cook is beyond me. It most certainly was not by his mother. He was raised on Kraft Macaroni and Cheese and hot dogs. Am I proud of my kids? Damn straight. It truly was the perfect day.

Back at home, with the loosened pants, I realize that I am the lucky one. The blessings that surround me are too numerous to count. I must remember to be in the moment, as much as possible, each and every day and remember these blessings. Not just on Thanksgiving, but all year long.

3 Responses to 'Being Conscious of Blessings and Giving Thanks'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Being Conscious of Blessings and Giving Thanks'.

  1. lynn said,

    Couldn’t agree with you more. But then you know that already. So many blessings and yes, what a wonderful week and fabulous job you did in making both events happen. All of us who participated are far richer for it.

  2. Margaret and Terry said,

    Dear Pam,

    It was a lovely day spent at Hacienda Jalisco, seeing old friends and meeting new ones. Thank you for your friendship and for bringing us all together for a happy occasion!

    (P.S. Joey is a treasure.)

  3. Art Purvis said,

    Thanks Pam, and Happy Thanksgiving! The Medical Expo was great. I’m glad I attended. On a light note, my friend John Cheley who accompnied me said, “you know you’ve reached a certain age, when your idea of a good time is a day spent at a medical expo”.


Leave a Reply

