HealthCare Resources Blog


Dental Journey Continues — But with Reprieve

Posted in Adventures,Personal by Pam on November 5, 2010
Tags:

Yesterday proved to be an enlightening and interesting day as far as my teeth go. As stated in prior articles, I discovered that my bones tend to heal slowly. Thus, a delay in proceeding with the further mouth work.

With the first three teeth pulled and now nearly healed (stitches out!), it was time to learn (fear?) the next step. Lucky for me, Dr. Lomeli is going out of town which gives me (and him I think!) a little breathing space. During my visit with him yesterday, this only involved me opening my mouth, at least for him to look inside, only one time.

He then brought out two “molds”. One was the mold of my teeth from my first visit. Yuck! Uneven, a bit jagged it seemed and embarrassingly ugly. Like something that would be involved with a Halloween mask. Next, he proudly presented what my “new” mouth will look like. Everything is even! The bite came together nicely! Everything was made from wax and I thought “There is no way my teeth can turn out this perfectly.” He assured me that they would and that even my chin will go back to what it is supposed to be like. (I didn’t know it was supposed to be any other way!).

He then informed me that I had some grueling days ahead. “How grueling?” I asked. He said at least two full days in his office, one right after the other. Bridges, root canals (possibly), a couple more teeth pulled – after that it became a blur.

Though I am fearful, I trust him fully and completely. My mouth is in his hands. I was also happy to hear that the blinding migraines that I have will most likely disappear being caused by my teeth, jaws and whatever not fitting together the way that they are supposed to. It seems as well, that when I swallow, it is anatomically incorrect, which also causes problems. He has had me swallow and then immediately stop so he can see where my tongue is (strange but true). He and his staff were obviously amazed at this swallowing manner.

So! I am committed to this. I have come too far to back out now. I will spend some time the next couple of weeks adjusting and preparing mentally for the rest of this. And as I have said in the past, Dr. Lomeli is a well known tenor in the area. I fully expect to have a complete aria presented by the end of this!

Leave a Reply

